New Robust Hydrogen Analyser Launched

Industrial Scientific (USA) is pleased to announce that Kent McElhattan, Chairman and Co-Founder, has been elected Chairman of the Board of Directors for the National Safety Council. McElhattan succeeds Joseph J. Ucciferro who served as Chairman for three years.

McElhattan was elected to the Council’s Board of Directors in 2007, serving on the finance and audit committees, as well as the strategic planning committee. He most recently served as Chair of the Trustees.

“Due in large part to the commitment and tenacity of the National Safety Council, our world is a much safer place today than it was 100 years ago, or even 25 years ago,” said McElhattan. “But we still have an enormous amount of work to do. I am delighted and humbled to have a leadership position within such a great national organization. I look forward to working with our President and CEO, Janet Froetscher, and her team.”

McElhattan served as President and CEO of Industrial Scientific from 1985 to 2010. Under his leadership, the company grew to become the market leader in gas detection for safety purposes with operations in 17 countries.

The National Safety Council was founded in 1913 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1953. The Council is a non-profit, international public service organization committed to preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the roads, through leadership, research, education and advocacy. The Council is executing on a strategy that will save an additional 10,000 lives and prevent 1 million injuries by 2014.

Leave a Reply